AFCON 2019: Ghana drawn against Cameroon 0

The Black Stars will be up for revenge against the Indomitable Lions, who ended their hopes of winning the 2017 tournament in the semi-finals. Guinea-Bissau and Benin are the other teams, making it an all West African group.

Kwesi Appiah’s men will be based in Ismailia and will begin their tournament against Benin on Monday, 25 June. They will then face Cameroon on 29 June before playing Guinea-Bissau four days later. Ghana have been crowned champions of Africa four times but haven’t lifted the trophy in 37 years.

Hosts nation Egypt will face Zimbabwe, DR Congo and Uganda in Group A while two-time champions Ivory Coast are in Group D alongside Morocco, South Africa and Namibia. Two of the three tournament debutants – Madagascar and Burundi – are in Group B with Nigeria and Guinea.

The other new team, Mauritania, are in Group E with Tunisia, Mali and Angola. Senegal and Algeria are alongside Kenya and Tanzania, who have only qualified once before – in 1980 – in Group C.

The first game of the tournament will be at the Cairo International Stadium between Egypt and on Friday, 21 June. The tournament takes place in six stadiums across Egypt between 21 June and 19 July.

This year’s tournament is the largest Africa Cup of Nations ever, with 24 teams. The top two from each group will go through to the last 16, while the best four third-placed teams also progress – meaning only eight teams are eliminated in the group stages. The draw was held next to the pyramids in Egypt.


Group A: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau

Source: Joy Sports/EFF