Cameroonian Njoya to battle Messi for FIFA Puskas Award 0

FIFA on Monday announced its shortlist for this year’s Puskas Award.

Crystal Palace’s Andros Townsend and Brazilian Matheus Cunha, who plays as a winger for Bundesliga club RB Leipzig will vie with Lionel Messi and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Townsend’s stunning volley against Manchester City at the Etihad last term is one of the 10 contenders announced by world football’s governing body.

Townsend’s effort was the Premier League goal of the season in 2018-19, as awarded by Match of the Day.

The Cameroonian Ajara Nchout Njoya who plays for Norwegian club Vålerenga will also battle Zlatan and Messi courtesy of her strike on international duty against New Zealand on 20 June 2019.

She also scored a superb goal against Avaldsnes in a 2-2 draw in the Norwegian League.

Njoya dribbled past three defenders before firing her effort to the top corner of the net. The goal was adjudged the best goal in the Norwegian top-flight.

Barcelona superstar Messi registered his name on the list with his stunning chip against Real Betis in La Liga back in March.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic’s acrobatic volley for LA Galaxy against Toronto last September is also included, as is a remarkable mid-air backheel by Sampdoria’s Fabio Quagliarella, similarly notched last September.

Liverpool’s Mo Salah won the award last year for his virtuoso goal against Everton in the Premier League.

The list released by FIFA for this year’s Puskas Award contained the following names:

Matheus Cunha: Bayer Leverkusen vs. RB Leipzig (6 April 2019)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Toronto FC vs LA Galaxy (September 15, 2018)

Lionel Messi: Real Betis vs FC Barcelona (17 March 2019)

Ajara Nchout Njoya: Cameroon vs New Zealand (20 June 2019)

Fabio Quagliarella: Sampdoria vs Napoli (2 September 2018)

Juan Fernando Quintero: River Plate vs Racing Club (10 February 2019)

Amy Rodriguez: Utah Royals vs Sky Blue FC (16 June 2019)

Andros Townsend: Manchester City vs Crystal Palace (22 December 2018)

Source: Pmnewsnigeria