Samuel Eto’o heading for a 5th African Golden Ball Crown 0

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the list of the last 30 players for the African Golden Ball 2016. The document that was made public today includes two Cameroonians, Benjamin Moukandjo of CF Lorient in France and of course the Great Samuel Eto’o, a player with Turkish club Antalyaspor.

Eto’o has been elected four times African Player of the Year (2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010). He is currently heading for a fifth African crown following his strong performance last season where he scored 20 goals in 31 appearances in the Turkish Superlig. Benjamin Moukandjo netted 13 times in Ligue 1 last season, in 31 games. Since the start of the new season, he has scored 4 goals in 8 matches with Lorient.

Algeria, Ivory Coast and Nigeria are the countries represented on the list with three players each. Yaya Toure, with four distinguished titles (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014) did not make the last 30. Glo-CAF Awards will be awarded the January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.


Here are the nominees:


Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Hillel Soudani El Arabi (Algeria & Dinamo Zagreb)

Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon & Antalyaspor)

Benjamin Mounkandjo (Cameroon & Lorient)

Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast & PSG)

Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast & Manchester City)

Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Ivory Coast & Hebei Fortune)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

Mohamed El Neny (Egypt & Arsenal)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Andre Ayew (Ghana & West Ham)

Victor Wanyama (Kenya & Tottenham)

William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)

Medhi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

John Obi Mikel (Nigeria & Chelsea)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)

Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo & Everton)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Kalidou koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs & South Africa)

Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)

Aymen Abdennour Tunisia & Valencia)

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Sunderland)

Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

By Chi Prudence Asong with files from CIN